Meet The Alt.Historians — Hank Garner & Therin Knite

Standard

ALT-History-102-eBook (1)As we get every closer to the official launch date for Alt.History 102, I’m thrilled to introduce two more of the authors in this outstanding anthology. So far, I’ve interviewed myself, Drew Avera & Asha Bardon, and J.E. Mac. Thankfully, I recovered from James’ interview enough for some more and today I bring you Hank Garner and Therin Knite.

I’ve known Hank for a little while now with each of us kind of orbiting each other in different ways and at different times. I’m so glad to be able to share some pages with him in Alt 102 — I’m a huge fan of his writing. I’m happy to see him in one of Samuel Peralta’s collections.

I first read Therin’s story Venus in Red over a year ago in The Telepath Chronicles. It was one of my favorites of the collection and I’m excited to see what she’s got for us in the vein of alternate history.

On another note, I talked to both Hank and Therin the other night when we recorded the next episode of Hank Garner’s Author Stories podcast. It should be up on Friday with me, Therin, Samuel Peralta and Jennifer Ellis. We had a blast recording it, so hopefully it is just as much fun to listen to. Check it out if you get a chance.

Now…on to Hank and Therin…


Hank Garner

10708526_289621877893288_775975125300147632_o

Give us a brief introduction to you. Who are you? What else have you written? What brings you to Alt.History 102?

My name is Hank and I’m a writer of strange stories. I am a husband and father, which keeps me really busy, but I find time to tell stories and host a weekly podcast. I’ve written three novels. Bloom, Mulligan and Seventh Son of a Seventh Son, and the new serial Writer’s Block all take place in a fictional town in the Mississippi Delta. This town is one of those places where the veil between this world and the next is a little thinner than most.

I am in Alt.History 102 at the invitation of Samuel Peralta. He emailed and asked if I would be interested and I jumped at the opportunity.

What’s your story about? What gave you the idea for your story?

My story is a big “what if” story. I started with a bit of a conspiracy theory premise. Some people believe that an alien craft crashed at Roswell New Mexico in 1947. They also believe that we obtained that wreckage and reverse engineered the alien technology and that is the reason for the technological jumps we have made in the last 60 or so years. I took that idea and spun it. What would happen if all that was true, but that it happened now instead of then? And what if the aliens crashed on purpose to allow us to get their technology? And what if they had been interfering with our progress for thousands of years?

I’m not exactly sure where the idea came from, other than I love a good alien conspiracy story.

If you could pick a previous Chronicles anthology that you could alter history to go back and be included in, which one would it be and why?

If I could go back and contribute to any other anthology, it would have to be The Time Travel Chronicles. I love the idea that events can be changed and manipulated, and then explore the fallout from those actions. Nearly everything I write has at least a small element of time travel, or dimensional travel.

Anything else you’d like to plug?

I host a podcast at hankgarner.com. It comes out weekly (sometimes more often) and it’s a lot of fun. I get to pick the brains of successful people and that has been a huge help to my writing. I hope it will help you as well.

I also am currently writing a series called Writer’s Block. It’s about a writer that is under a deadline and can’t finish. He is confronted with the ghosts of his past, as well as people that may or may not be from this world. Oh, and he has a magic typewriter that makes everything he types on it come true.


Therin Knite

Screenshot 2016-01-27 at 9.27.22 PM

Give us a brief introduction to you. Who are you? What else have you written? What brings you to Alt.History 102? 

Hi! I’m Therin Knite. I write snarky sci-fi thrillers, including the Echoes and Arcadian Heights series. I also have a short story called Venus in Red in The Telepath Chronicles. I was invited by Sam to contribute a story to Alt.History 102, which, of course, I was happy to do.

What’s your story about? What gave you the idea for your story? 

My Alt.History story is called The Blackbird Sings. It’s based on the idea that the USSR launched a nuclear assault on the Pacific Coast in the early eighties, leading to the rise of cybernetics in place of personal computing in the 80s and 90s. In modern times, instead of handheld technology and WiFi, everybody’s a cyborg, with all the tech inside their bodies. The story follows a decorated FBI agent as she hunts down an assassin in the ruins of the West.

If you could pick a previous Chronicles anthology that you could alter history to go back and be included in, which one would it be and why? 

Ironically enough, that’d be The Time Travel Chronicles. I was originally slated to be in it, but I had some unexpected stuff happen near the deadline and had to drop out. 

Anything else you’d like to plug?

You can find me at www.therinknite.com, and, if you like FREE stuff and book release news, you should join my newsletter: http://eepurl.com/bDx7Qv.

4 thoughts on “Meet The Alt.Historians — Hank Garner & Therin Knite

Leave a Reply

