Meet The Alt.Historians — Drew Avera & Asha Bardon

Standard

ALT-History-102-eBook (1)We’re changing history this week with the upcoming publication of Alt.History 102. The anthology, curated and co-edited by Samuel Peralta, is ambitious and bold. (I might be a little biased…) The release is slated less than a week away on January 31, and we’re all geeking out a little over here, so excuse the glee. 🙂

The list of authors is fantastic and I can’t wait for readers to see the fruits of our efforts.

Yesterday, I introduced…myself. Today, I’m thrilled to present two interviews with my co-authors Drew Avera and Asha Bardon. Don’t worry…the rest of the line-up is in the wings. So, without further ado, let’s hear what these two have to say.


 

Drew Avera

11742948_1461996154122086_2371206396599843693_n

Give us a brief introduction to you. Who are you? What else have you written? What brings you to Alt.History 102?

My name is Drew Avera (pronounced Avery) and I’m a science fiction author who lives in Virginia. I’m known more for the books I’ve written in The Dead Planet Series, but I also write a lot of science fiction short stories. Sam invited me to Alt. History 102 because of a story I wrote called Reich, which is a blend of alternate history and a dystopian future. I also have a story featured in The Immortality Chronicles which was my first anthology with the other Chroniclers.

What’s your story about? What gave you the idea for your story?

My story is called “The Tesla Gate” and it is about Nikola Tesla building a device to help his friend relive his life with his recently deceased family members. Tesla is a bit different in my story than he was known for, but every brilliant person is hiding something. You’ll have to read my story to see what is lurking in one of the greatest scientific minds in history.

If you could pick a previous Chronicles anthology that you could alter history to go back and be included in, which one would it be and why?

I would have loved to be in “The AI Chronicles” or “The Galaxy Chronicles”. Maybe they will do another round of those…

Anything else you’d like to plug?

If you would like to jump into The Dead Planet Series then check out the first book in the series for free. It is called Exodus and you can pick it up here: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C1KP6SS


Asha Bardon

lesley

 

Give us a brief introduction to you. Who are you? What else have you written? What brings you to Alt.History 102?

Hi I’m Asha and I live in a quiet town with my cats and guide dog. Under the name Lesley Smith, I’ve published two novels (The Changing of the Sun and The Parting of the Waters) as well as a story in The Z Chronicles and various self published shorts that you can find on Amazon. I come to Alt.History 102 under the guide of a chance to write historical fiction, something I’ve never tried before. I pitched Samuel three ideas: one focusing on America before it was discovered as the New World, another focusing on Hannibal’s success against the Romans and the final idea was a reversal of the Space Race. Sam went with Hannibal and so “The Elissiad” was born.

What’s your story about? What gave you the idea for your story?

I spent the first year of my degree continuing my study of Classics (a subject which basically covers every aspect of ancient Greece and Rome) and we read a number of classical texts, most notably Virgil’s Aeneid which I always preferred. Homer’s Illiad was basically a war movie and bored me; The Odyssey was pure fantasy but Virgil, he mixed both and came out with a much more memorable epic.

My story revolves around the idea of Hannibal winning against the Romans but it’s not set in that period. Rather it focuses on the Golden Age of Carthage, a generation or so later, where the city has been blessed by gods and is the new Eternal City. Except the gods, Tanit and Baal, aren’t all they seem and the city isn’t as peaceful as it appears with a religious faction, the Warriors of Mithras, having incited the people to question their benevolent deities.

If you could pick a previous Chronicles anthology that you could alter history to go back and be included in, which one would it be and why?

All of them? Actually I’m happy with the ones I’ve been in and hope that I’ll be included in future line ups (my inner geek would love to be in Gamer, for example). Oh and something apocalyptic but we’ll see.

Anything else you’d like to plug?

Sure. As I mentioned I have a couple of novels out with more to follow this year. You can buy them from Amazon and peruse my backlist here: http://www.amazon.com/Lesley-Smith/e/B00BXA1MXA

I also blog at www.ashabardon.com and live on Twitter as @AshaBardon. Come and say hi!

6 thoughts on “Meet The Alt.Historians — Drew Avera & Asha Bardon

Leave a Reply

