Meet The Immortals — Harlow C. Fallon

Standard

We’ve reached the halfway mark on authors featured in the upcoming anthology, The Immortality Chronicles. Today I have the privilege of introducing Harlow C. Fallon. Harlow is the anchor on this anthology, and for good reason. Her story is one that I know people will be talking (maybe even raving) about once reviews start pouring in. Her tale takes both angles — positioning her protagonist (and antagonist?) both in the past, journeying to the New World in the 1600’s, and also in the future, journeying to a distant world in a spaceship. I loved the ties to history, but the very speculative nature of the tale.

To read it for yourself, go and preorder The Immortality Chronicles for just $2.99.

And in case you missed it, previous interviews are already up with: Patricia Gilliam, John Gregory Hancock, Drew Avera, Gareth Foy, D.K. Cassidy, Thomas Robins, and E.E. Giorgi. Interviews with the rest of the roster will be coming next week. Now…on to Harlow’s interview:

11796327_10153423837640170_1900403244562143189_nWho are you?

Ah, the age-old question: Who am I? What is my purpose in this world? Okay, fine, I won’t go the philosophical route. My name is Harlow Fallon and I’m the author of the Elmwyn Journey books, All the Wild Places and the Reach of the Hand. I’m also married, the mother of five grown children, and I’ve lived in Michigan for the past fifteen years.

Why are you writing for the Immortality Chronicles?

I’ve enjoyed reading the Chronicles since they first launched, and, of course, dreamed of seeing one of my own short stories published in a Chronicles anthology. But I wasn’t published yet. Working on it…oh so close…but hadn’t pushed the publish button. So I didn’t feel qualified to be included. I had a short story I thought would be perfect for one of the Chronicles, but held back until that day I became a published author. That step gave me enough confidence to ask Samuel Peralta if he’d consider my short story for another volume, The Immortality Chronicles. Samuel was gracious enough to give my story a read, and he agreed to include it. I’m very grateful to him for giving me the chance to finally have one of my short stories published, and in such an amazing series as the Future Chronicles.

What did you write for The Immortality Chronicles?

The title of my story is “A Long Horizon,” about a young woman in 1620s London who longs for a new life in Virginia. She boards a ship headed to the New World, but her course drastically changes when she is abducted from the ship by an alien entity and kept alive for 900 years until deep space travel becomes a reality. She’s an unwilling host to the alien on a ship headed to his home planet. The story explores the themes of isolation and loneliness, and how the loyal friendship of even one person can make a difference in a life.

harlowHow can we find out more about you and your writing?

You can find me on Facebook: facebook.com/harlowcfallon (feel free to friend or follow me). I’m also on Twitter: https://twitter.com/harlowcfallon and you can check out my books and short stories on my Amazon page: www.amazon.com/author/harlowfallon. I also have a website: www.harlowcfallon.com but it’s languishing at the moment. And one more: Instagram. https://instagram.com/hcfallon. I think that’s it. Whew.

What’s next for you?

I’m very excited about a new anthology in the works curated by author Chris Pourteau, called Tails of the Apocalypse. Each apocalyptic or dystopian story has an animal which plays an important role. The anthology springs from Chris’s own very popular story, Unconditional, about a dog who searches for his boy during a zombie apocalypse. I’ll have a story in the anthology, called “The Bear’s Child.” I’m honored to be included and to be sharing the limelight with some really amazing authors.

I also have a couple of novels in the works that I hope to finish and publish in 2016.

Anything else we need to know about you and your story?

Nothing more about me. I’m a no-frills kind of person. But I do want to say thank you to Sam for all his work, and for consistently putting out an incredible series of anthologies. Also thank you to Carol Davis for all her hard work editing this volume. And I want to mention how proud I am of supporting First Book with the proceeds from the sales of The Immortality Chronicles. Thank you, Will for your part in this. First Book puts new books in the hands of children in need. It’s a wonderful organization. www.firstbook.org.

5 thoughts on “Meet The Immortals — Harlow C. Fallon

Leave a Reply

