Meet The Immortals — Thomas Robins

Standard

Out of all the authors featured in The Immortality Chronicles, I’ve known Thomas Robins the longest. Him and I go back to the first months of each of our publishing careers when we were both firmly entrenched in writing WOOL fanfic. I consider Thomas to be a great friend and I’ve always been a fan of his work. I can wholeheartedly recommend his novel Desperate to Escape and I get a kick whenever I see something new from him in my inbox.

Thomas’ approach to immortality is a bit different than the other writers in this collection as he details below. I hope you read and enjoy his story as much as I did when I first read it.

Before you settle in for a brief interview with Thomas, here are the links to the previous Immortal interviews:

Patricia Gilliam / John Gregory Hancock / Drew Avera / Gareth Foy / D.K. Cassidy

…and here is Thomas Robins:

11796327_10153423837640170_1900403244562143189_nWho are you?

My name is Thomas Robins and I am an author every Wednesday night between the hours of 6 pm and 10 pm. My office is a Starbucks and my drink of choice is hot green tea. The rest of the week, I am a father, husband, coach, and I am gainfully employed at a public school. My best ideas for stories come when I am mowing the lawn and if I can remember them until Wednesday, you get to read them, too. I am desperately dependent on word-of-mouth to get people to read my books because, come Wednesday night, I have to decide between promoting and writing, and I almost always choose writing.

Why are you writing for The Immortality Chronicles?

This will be my third story appearing in a book where proceeds go to charity. It’s a great feeling to know my creative ventures are helping raise funds for worthy causes. Plus, the Future Chronicles series is the premiere place for indie and established authors to find themselves these days. All of them are amazing and I have been itching to be in one for a while. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be in a Future Chronicles book by the end of the year and, come September 4th, that resolution comes true. Might be my first completed resolution…ever.

What did you write for The Immortality Chronicles?

Eternity Today. I’m going to say something your not going to like and I want you to promise you won’t stop reading once I tell you. Promise? Eh? Ok, good. This is a time loop story. It is, I can’t call it anything else. Now, let me tell you why it’s OK. In most time loop stories, a few characters know what’s going on and everyone else is oblivious (like Bill Murray was the only person aware  in Groundhog Day). However, in Eternity Today, everyone on Earth knows what is happening. The theme I’m exploring is how society would evolve, or devolve, given an unlimited amount of time: if everyone were suddenly made immortal.

4405421How can we find out more about you and your writing?

Here’s the pitch, are you ready? I’ll wait…I have a blog, but the updates are hit and miss. I have an amazon page, but it feels cluttered. What I really want you to do is sign up for my newsletter. It’s usually about four months between newsletters, but it’s the best way to know when something new is coming out. I also offer a limited number of signed paperbacks at rock bottom prices when I send out the newsletter. Click here and make my day.

What’s next for you?

I’ve been invited to be in the upcoming Shapeshifter Chronicles. Plus, I have a couple personal projects I’ve been working on. If you want to keep up, then…you guessed it…sign up for the newsletter.

Anything else we need to know about you and your story?

You’ve read a lot about me, I want to make it about you for a moment. If you are thinking about writing, go for it. Even if you never publish, get your stories out of your head and on paper (or computer). Share them if you can. A few years ago I would never have believed I’d be writing for something as great as Immortality Chronicles, but here I am. If you have a drive inside you, follow it. All you need is some time every Wednesday night between 6 pm and 10 pm.

6 thoughts on “Meet The Immortals — Thomas Robins

Leave a Reply

