Meet The Immortals — D.K. Cassidy

Standard

Thanks for visiting another entry in the author introductions for The Immortality ChroniclesWe’ve got quite a collection of Immortality-themed stories for you in the next edition of The Future Chronicles (on sale during preorder right now for just $2.99). Today we’re going to hear from Immortal author (not really immortal….I think?) D.K. Cassidy.

To read the previous author interviews, click on the names listed below:

Patricia Gilliam

John Gregory Hancock

Drew Avera

Gareth Foy

Like I mentioned already, today’s guest is D.K. Cassidy. She definitely paid homage to British sci-fi master Douglas Adams with her story Room 42. I loved the themes she addressed and how she portrayed the events in her story. By the end, I was left with some answers, but a lot more questions; in the end, that’s a welcome factor for a quality short story. She is a welcome addition to The Immortality Chronicles, so without anymore from me, here is her interview:

11796327_10153423837640170_1900403244562143189_nWho are you?

My pen name is D.K. Cassidy. Books and writing have been a major part of my life since I was a small girl. I spent a lot of time in the public library, exploring the world and the universe one aisle at a time. I began to scribble my own stories in a notebook, never showing them to anyone. The stories were for me. Once I became an adult I realized I wanted to share my writing.

I enjoy writing in various genres including Magical Realism, Urban Gothic, Science Fiction and Literary Fiction. My goal? Messing with your mind by transforming the voices in my head into odd stories.

I live in the Pacific Northwest with my husband Mark, twin sons Aidan and Jared, and three cats.

Why are you writing for The Immortality Chronicles?

The proceeds of this anthology benefit First Book. To quote the website http://www.firstbook.org, their mission is “Putting new books in the hands of the children who need them most.

The Future Chronicles is an epic series of anthologies. When I had the opportunity to write for one, I cleared my schedule and dove in!

11938237_10207627063217233_880679122_nWhat did you write for The Immortality Chronicles?

My story is Room 42. It explores the subject of unintended immortality and its consequences. Not everyone wants to live forever.

How can we find out more about you and your writing?

Visit my website: www.dkcassidy.com

Sign up for my newsletter: www.dkcassidy.com/newsletter

Follow me on Amazon: D.K. Cassidy, Amazon Author Page

What’s next for you?

I’m currently building a world based on my short story collection, Spilt Milk. It’s been fun taking characters that were briefly introduced to the reader and fleshing out their backstory. A few of the characters intersect and affect each other’s lives, sometimes unknowingly. The genre of this collection is Dark Literary Fiction, and Magical Realism. The writing style is will remind you of The Twilight Zone, Shirley Jackson (author of the story, The Lottery), Neil Gaiman, and Edgar Allen Poe.

Anything else we need to know about you and your story?

The number 42 appears throughout my story. It’s a nod to Douglas Adams, the brilliant author of The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy.

8 thoughts on “Meet The Immortals — D.K. Cassidy

Leave a Reply

