Meet The Immortals — Gareth Foy

Standard

Another day, another interview with one of the writers for The Immortality Chronicles due out Friday, Sept. 4.

Interviews so far:

Sunday: Patricia Gilliam

Monday: John Gregory Hancock

Tuesday: Drew Avera

Today: Gareth Foy

Gareth is a brand new writer. Seriously. I dare you to try to find anything he’s professionally written before now. In spite of the newness, Mr. Foy comes out of the gate swinging with his epic story here in The Immortality Chronicles. I really enjoyed the concepts he dealt with and the mind-bending possibilities from the potential truth he laid out for readers. I hope Gareth keeps up writing; he’s got a bright future after getting a start here in the latest edition of The Future Chronicles.

The Immortality Chronicles is on sale in preorder for just $2.99. On Launch Day, the price goes up to $5.99 so get your copy today!

Enough about my thoughts on Gareth. Here is my interview with the man:

11796327_10153423837640170_1900403244562143189_nWho are you?

I’m Gareth Foy, married to Melanie with two kids and living in Scotland.

I’ve been a massive SF/Fanatsy fan since I read the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe in fifth grade. My first memory of writing because I wanted to be a writer was in 10th grade. My friend and I announced it to our English teacher, who was very supportive, and I poured out a few thousand words about a robot war before hitting the wall of doubt for the first time.

Why are you writing for The Immortality Chronicles?

I go over this moment time and again because I still can’t believe it. Writing was on hold after we bought a house in need of a lot of TLC and when the kids were born. After discovering this amazing community of SF Indie authors following Wool, I was more in awe than anything, but time and again I came across detailed tips for how you change from writing a few thousand words and shelving it to being someone that completes stories. So I set myself some targets to learn all of it, in small steps, and complete things.

At that point The Future Chronicles was and still is an amazing set of books full of authors I can’t get enough of. Then I was sitting during a break reading FB when Samuel announced The Immortality Chronicles. It didn’t say a word about previous publication or success. In fact, it seemed to be encouraging new authors. Plus, it was for a great charity I have no idea where the courage came from, but I sent Samuel told Samuel about an idea I had been working on, fully expecting to be turned down. I am forever grateful that the opposite happened and from that moment the support in the Indie community has been completely unbelievable.

garethWhat did you write for The Immortality Chronicles?

My story is called The Essence of Jamie’s Father. I grew up on Asimov and my joint favorite story of his is called The Last Question. It is a grandiose theme of future history and human discovery. I have been watching a lot TV made by a CERN physicist Prof Brian Cox lately and he seems to need to point out that although the universe may have many gazillion years left, eventually due to entropy, the last star will stop shining one day. So, I decided he is wrong, Asimov was right and the story boiled right down to a son and his immortal father.

How can we find out more about you and your writing?

It’s a work in progress but I’m trying to keep my website www.garethfoy.uk up to date and this has links to everywhere else I might put information.

What’s next for you?

I’m completing a follow up story in the “Essence” universe. Hanna Elizabeth has completed great covers for this story and the Jamie story for when I self-publish it. I hope to publish the sequel soon after The Immortality Chronicles is published.

I started a novel last NaNoWriMo. I love it and am also dying to get back to it. I had intended to wait until it was finished to publish, but, I’m seriously thinking of serializing it as well.

Anything else we need to know about you and your story?

As far as my writing and this story goes, I seem to want to be optimistic about the future of humanity and I like societies who take care of their most vulnerable. Human beings are amazing but we are still capable of great evil as well as great good. I like to think of a future, as difficult as it may be, where the balance may shift away from the great evil.

8 thoughts on “Meet The Immortals — Gareth Foy

Leave a Reply

