Guest blogger: Betsy Baker

Standard

One thing I’ve really found over the past year as an independent author is the cooperative and collaborative nature of many writers. I guess I always imagined that most writers sequestered themselves in a dark attic and pounded away on a typewriter until they emerged with Catcher in the Rye or went crazy. (Or both!) 

I am a part of two amazing groups that encourage and push me as a writer and feel I can call a number of other indie writers friends. I can show my work to them and get feedback, positive or negative. Many of them have read at least some of my books and will promote them to other readers when the opportunity presents itself. Writers don’t live in bubbles, as much as it feels like we do at times. 

That’s what I wanted t do when I first decided to do Baking With Swords with my brother and sister. I wanted them to know the writer’s life does not have to be a lonely one. You’ve already read Paul’s guest blog (here) and today you can read Betsy’s road to writing her story Flutter. 

Baking With Swords will be available in print and on Kindle in the next couple weeks. 

(By the way, she refers to me as William, which I allow her and my parents to do. It would seem weird for her to go with Will, so I’ll allow it here. Once.)


 

I’ve started so many stories and books over the years, it shocked me when William managed to finish one first. But then again, William and I have been in competition to be first for most of our lives. I went to college first, but he had a clear idea of what he wanted to do in life before I did. He was engaged first, even though I’d been dating my prospective husband for years before he’d even met Sarah. I managed to get married before him, by one week.

 

Betsy sent me a picture to use, but due to unforseen technology issues, I had to nab a picture off Facebook, just like I did for my brother. (Fair's fair -- and there are no birds in your picture, Betsy!)

Betsy sent me a picture to use, but due to unforeseen technology issues, I had to nab a picture off Facebook, just like I did for my brother. (Fair’s fair — and there are no birds in your picture, Betsy!)

I know what you’re thinking, I got married the week before him just to be first. Well, no. Not really. That date was special to David & me and that’s why we wanted to get married on that date. Getting married first was just a very, very small sibling rivalry perk. (By the way, Sarah, sorry if that really messed you up!)

William & Sarah got pregnant first. That hurt because we then tried for another five plus years before we got pregnant. The hurt and pang from our infertility and loss of a baby is some of what inspired Flutter. You can read more of that story here, if you would like. William tells me that my story also inspired a character for one of his first Wool World stories (The Veil, found here).

William got his Master’s first. Though, honestly, I don’t know if I’ll ever pursue that. I wanted to at one point, but now I have other priorities.

So, we’ve been competing for our whole lives. But after having my second child I was finally able to set that rivalry aside. When William announced that he had written a short story available for sale on Amazon, and was at work on a novel, I honestly wasn’t jealous. Well, not for longer than sixty seconds, anyway. I was more annoyed at myself. Why had I not done this? I actually, at the time, had two books in the works; a cookbook and a coursebook. I have yet to finish either of these. I’ve been in the editing process for my coursebook for a year and a half now. I’ll get it done, but it’s more tedious than picking small stones out of a cubic foot of sand.

William asked if I’d like to contribute to a sibling compilation book and at first I didn’t know what to say. Really? Wow. Uh…yes…but…what about? And…when will I find time? And….What I’ve learned in my life is that if you really want to do it you just say ‘yes’ and then you get to work. If all you can type is ‘duh, duh, duh’ over and over again, then do it. Eventually you’ll type a different word. And then you’ll type a sentence. And then you’ll type a paragraph.

So I sat down and fairly quickly knocked out the first segment of Flutter, which could stand on it’s own as a very short story. I then realized I could easily write a second segment, which could also stand on it’s own as a very short story. There came a point when I knew where the story was going and how it would end. You know what’s tough? Filling in the middle bits and flushing out the details. And even harder than that is the editing.

Concept 3I’m not good at rejecting what I’ve written. I get protective of my works. Like a mother bird over her little chicks. Really, though, I need to remember that when it’s gotten to the editing phase it’s time to let the little chick fly. I need to let go and let it grow up. William was very gracious during the editing process of Flutter and very much walked me through it.

Like I said, Flutter was inspired a bit from my own life, in a way. And I found myself very emotional during the process. I hope it comes through; how much of myself is in this story. But I hope you don’t get bogged down in it, either.

Rivalry isn’t always a bad thing. When William went first in getting published it showed me I can do it, too, and prompted me to get on with it already. I’m glad I’ve had William to compete with. Though now I’m even more glad to have him to work with. Thanks, Mom, for giving me these brothers of mine!

Oh, and yes, this Baker does know how to cook…here’s a great slow-cooker rib recipe:  http://grkids.com/recipe-and-store-sales-matchup-may-20-to-may-26-2012/ (ignore the sales talk, that post is from two years ago).

2 thoughts on “Guest blogger: Betsy Baker

Leave a Reply

