Reviews, Audiobooks, and Other Updates

Standard

I’ve hit a few milestones the past couple weeks — let me list a few for you: 

  • I sold a paperback copy of Dead Sight on Amazon. Yeah…I know, that doesn’t sound like a big deal, but I had not previously sold any physical copies through Amazon. I’ve sold physical books, but only after I ordered copies from CreateSpace and then personally delivered them. This sale was a milestone — a small one, but one nonetheless. Huzzah!
  • I received my 100th review the other day and now I’ve exceeded that number and am sitting at #103 as of this blog post. Now, this is out of seven different titles, one of which I am a small part of, but it is still meaningful to me. Ant Apocalypse has the most of my works with 30 reviews and a 4.4 star average. 
  • Speaking of AA, I got a review the other day of it from a fantastic source. Nick Cole, author of the amazing book Old Man and the Wasteland (previous review here), decided to read and review my short little ant tale. Nick doesn’t review a ton of books, but he graciously left me a review for Ant Apocalypse. Having a writer as talented as Nick read and love my work definitely encourages me to continue to write and push myself creatively. Thanks Nick! Check out his review here

Speaking of Ant Apocalypse, I began production last week on an audiobook of it. I got five auditions for it and one of them just really had the sound I was looking (listening?) for. I’ll share more late, but I should have it together in a few weeks. This is really exciting for me. I’ve never been an audiobook person myself, but I know loads of people who are huge audiobook fans. My brother, in particular, is psyched about it. Hopefully I can get the rest of my books transformed into audiobooks in the future as well. 

As for new writing…there isn’t any. Not much at least. In fact, to be honest, I’ve barely written anything for a few weeks. One reason was a book I edited that was just completed and delivered. My wife and I compiled a set of letters and memories for a fellow teacher who is retiring this year. We just handed it over a few nights ago and the thanks we received were priceless. There’s another reason I’ve been away from the keyboard — my wife’s annual Dinner Theatre production at school. I do my best to help out each year and that means putting my life on hold to be there for her. 

…and so, here I am on April 14, 2014 saying to you that my plans for the next four-five months include writing as much as I can. I’ve got the last month of school, final exams, and graduation of course, but then after that… I’ve got a few short stories to finish up, a silo saga trilogy to wrap up, the final Dead Sleep novel to begin (and hopefully finish). 

Thanks again to everyone for taking this journey with me. I can’t begin to tell you how much of a thrill this last year has been for me. Stay tuned for more awesomeness!

Leave a Reply

