Done.

Standard

I’m finished. 

This is the one of the worst parts. Waiting. Seeing if anyone will buy the sucker and what kind of reviews it’ll get. 

ImageI officially released DEAD SIGHT today with much fanfare. (all true, except the fanfare bit)

I’m really excited for this one on a number of levels. First, it’s my second novel. I’d written DEAD SLEEP last year and got some pretty good reviews on it. I knew I was going to follow it up, I just didn’t know how soon. I didn’t even get the physical edition of DEAD SLEEP out until October, so it was still fairly fresh in my mind when I started on the sequel for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in November. 

That’s the next aspect that thrills me — this was a NaNo book. It ended up right at 68,000 words, but nearly 55,000 came during November or in the days immediately following. I finished it up in January and added the finishing touches in February, but the bulk of this book was written in a 30-day time span. If you ask me, it makes for a better book. More consistency and better flow. Definitely convinced me to try it again this fall. 

What also gets me excited about this book is family. I suppose these first three novels (DEAD SLEEP, DEAD SIGHT, and the last, DEAD SEARCH <—- what’s that, a title spoiler?!) are all in some way a dedication to my wonderful family. Not only my wife and children, but also to my mom, dad, brothers, sister, aunts and uncles and grandparents. DEAD SIGHT takes place in South Dakota, which is where my dad’s mother spent the latter part of her life. We traveled through many times (as well as North Dakota, where my mom’s family lives) and it became a very familiar place. You can see me in the main character, Jack, but you can also see bits and pieces of my other family members in the other characters as well. What this book has also done is bring me and my brothers and sister closer together. I’ll probably save the bulk of that for another blog sometime, but the interaction between me and my siblings has been fantastic ever since I started writing. 

I’m also excited because I decided to give my readers a break. I priced both DEAD SLEEP and DEAD SIGHT at just 99 cents for the next couple weeks. If you haven’t gotten the first one, you can get both for cheaper than one cost yesterday. Go get them now!

Thanks so much for reading and for following my adventures. This book is for you, my readers. 

Leave a Reply

