Reader Requests!

Standard

So last week, I petitioned my Facebook friends for a blog topic. I ended up using half of one of their suggestions and wrote about my daughter’s first day with her “brand new/very used” saxophone and the family legacy that went along with it.

So, in order to satisfy Facebook, here are the rest of the topics in order:

Forbes West wanted me to write about “Sperm whales look stupid.”

Image

Here is a picture I saw last week, ironically a day after I saw Forbes’ suggestion. Above is a pod of sperm whales, doing their best popsicle impersonation. Apparently the BBC caught these whales in this position, sleeping.

Sleeping.

I mean, who does that? I tried to sleep vertically underwater once and it didn’t work.

Stupid sperm whales.

ImageLisa Schilt wanted me to write about the Biggest Loser result.

Now to be fair, this was a lot bigger news last Tuesday evening when the NBC show had their season finale. The winner ended up being Rachel Fredrickson, who lost 60% of her body weight during the show’s run. That is a TON of weight.

(Not literally. A ton is 2,000 pounds. Compared to that, Fredrickson lost a mere 155 pounds.)

Now as you can see from the photo here, she looks not just thin, but skeletal. I’m adopting a child from Africa and I can only hope he looks a little healthier than her by the time he gets to the states. I think she may have pushed it a bit too far, but as someone who can’t seem to shake 10 pounds, I don’t have much room to talk.

Christopher Boore wanted me to talk about Forbes West.

Forbes West is not one to simply be talked about.

He once financed an entire vigilante group in a mid-sized Mexican city to take down a cartel.

He keeps pet sharks in his toilet.

His mother is allergic to him.

Forbes sunk the Titanic.

He can drink E-85 gasoline, but doesn’t get as good as mileage as regular unleaded.

Forbes magazine may or may not be named after him.

The reason McDonald’s has a “special sauce” on their Big Macs is because Forbes once spat in a fresh batch.

He had a twin brother named Forbes East, but killed him to found Rome.

Forbes is the stuff of legend and the center of nightmares for children worldwide.

ImageJae Michels wanted me to talk about junk food.

I bought a package of Combos yesterday. I suppose, ala Zombieland, if I had a food that I might hanker for in the post-apocalyptic wasteland of the United States, Combos just might be the food of choice. I love me some Combos. I had Cheddar Cheese Cracker Combos yesterday, but I’m also a big Nacho Cheese and Pepperoni Pizza fan as well. I suppose the Cracker varieties are more preferred to the pretzel varieties, but I like to mix it up every now and then.

There it is – a scattershot blog, all due to your requests.

3 thoughts on “Reader Requests!

Leave a Reply

