My TBR Pile (I’m working on it!)

Standard

I try to read a lot. I love to read, but here is a problem. When you also write a lot, it leaves you less time to read. I do have a healthy TBR pile built up (of which, these 8 are just the start). When I polish one off, I promise a review.

Books on by TBR (To Be Read) Pile:

*IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER

ImageWICK Omnibus by Michael Bunker – This man is quickly becoming a name to be reckoned with in writing, and I am glad to call him my friend. His short story, Pennsylvania, has an Asimov/Heinlein tone to it that is very relatable, in spite of its “Amish Sci-fi” moniker. WICK is the book Bunker sharpened his sci-fi teeth on and I can’t wait to plunge into the post-apocalyptic tale.

Monsters by Peter Cawdron – I was recommended to Peter by Hugh Howey back some months, but I never pulled the trigger. That is, until Little Green Men a few days ago. That book is outstanding and I will recommend that to anyone interested in hard scifi. This was 99 cents at the same time I bought LGM, so I pulled the trigger on this and hope for more of the same magic from Mr. Cawdron.

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon – I don’t remember where I read about this a while back, but they were saying it would be like the next Harry Potter. Well, we’ve had a few attempts (some more successful than others), but this one looked intriguing. For $4.99, I figured I’d give it a read when I got the chance.

ImageSilo 49 by Ann Christy – If you don’t know already, I am a WOOLite, or member of LOOW or whatever you want to call a devotee to Hugh Howey’s WOOLiverse (or is it WOOLverse). Anyway, I’ve read most of the stories released, but for some reason, I just haven’t gotten to Ann’s tale of Silo 49. My sister read it and loved it, so I will have to dive in at some point.

Earthman Jack and the Ghost Planet by Matthew Kadish – Once again, I deferred to the taste of Hugh Howey on this one. If my memory is correct, I think he posted a story about Kadish and this book and it was compared to Star Wars meets Harry Potter. I’m in for that, especially at 99 cents. Really a big reason why this is on the list, however, is that I am letting my daughter read it right now and I want to talk to her about it later.

Brilliance by Marcus Sakey – the Brilliance of Amazon’s marketing, that is. I saw this advertised for a couple weeks on Amazon’s Kindle page and it looked a lot like a book I would want to read. It wasn’t super-expensive, so I bought it.

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith – I am a sucker. I love Harry Potter. When I heard about this book conning people, I bought it. Still haven’t had a chance to read it, though.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman – What can I say? It’s Neil Freaking Gaiman. 

Leave a Reply

