The novel I always wanted to write…

Link

Dead Sleep 3 medThe novel I always wanted to write…

I’m turning 34 this week. Throughout my life, I’d set arbitrary milestones for myself (i.e. by the time I’m 25, I’ll have written a novel; by the time I’m 30, I’ll have written a novel, etc…) In January of this year, I finally decided to just stop making excuses and just do it.

This is that novel. It isn’t necessarily the idea for a novel I’ve always had in the back of my mind. That idea has changed and evolved through the years and it eventually all came together into DEAD SLEEP.

The novel’s opening chapter came to me as I was standing in the receiving line for a funeral in January, 2013. I started writing shortly thereafter and I never stopped. That was the key that always tripped me up in the past. I did take a few weeks off here and there (being a teacher took priority occasionally), but continuing and finishing became a priority for me.

So, what’s the book about?

Jackson Ellis is the early-20’s protagonist who narrates most of the story. He confesses early on that he can see his future, but hadn’t actively done so since childhood. One day, his ability came back and knocked him out with its intensity. What did he see? The woman he would love and eventually marry.

He doubted his infallible ability when I learned later on that that woman, Kristina, was dead in the basement of the local funeral home. To quell his curiosity, Jackson sneaks into the funeral home, discovering Kristina’s death is not as permanent as it first appeared.

Kristina’s father implanted technology that could kill her and bring her back to life when she was just nine years old. She was soon taken captive by a mysterious group known as The Company and is forced to act as an operative on their behalf with an evil man named Donnie Cloyd.

Soon, Cloyd is on the hunt for Kristina and Jackson, a hunt that can only end in violence.

So…there you go. I hope it sounds interesting. In addition to science fiction, I’ve been told it also is New Adult.

I didn’t want to give too much away in the plot, but there is a lot that I didn’t give away. I hope people like it — so far with five reviews on Amazon, three are 5 stars and two have 4 stars, so it looks like people enjoy it.

Oh…and I’ve put it on sale for just 99 cents in August. Check it out and let me know what you think…

Leave a Reply

